How to stop your Mac from auto-connecting to a Wi-Fi network

0
2

Wi-Fi hotpots: As convenient as they are, they can be very
annoying, as well. Especially when you’re using a Mac or iPhone
that’s trying to connect to a hotspot when you don’t want it
to.

Macworld reader Martin Joseph wants to ditch one company’s
Wi-Fi hotspot in particular:

I wonder if you can figure out a way to set a Mac to
never ever connect to Xfinity Wi-Fi? It would be
great to eliminate this in my iPhone, too. I have found that
deleting it from the list of known networks isn’t the best
choice, and I usually resort to leaving it, but at lowest
priority.

Apple’s Wi-Fi network control in macOS became kind of primitive
many releases ago, and then Apple made it worse, removing a few
features that haven’t returned. You can delete networks, as
Martin notes:

  1. Open the Network system preference pane.
  2. Click your Wi-Fi entry in the adapter list at left.
  3. Click the Advanced button.
  4. In the Wi-Fi tab, select a network or networks you want to
    remove, and click the minus (-) sign.
  5. Click OK, and then click Apply.

You can also rearrange connection priority in step 4, so that
you put preferred networks on top. This scrolling list can wind
up with hundreds of entries, as they collect over time, and
there’s no way to search through the list, see when the network
was added, get geographic information about them, or any other
data.

What Martin might be encountering is iCloud-based sync for
Wi-Fi network entries. If you have iCloud Keychain enabled,
every Mac and iOS device logged into the same iCloud account
syncs all Wi-Fi network passwords. You may have noticed this if
you log in to a hotspot at a cafe that has a password on your
Mac, and then turn to an iPhone—it’s already synced the
password over the cellular network, and has connected to the
local network.

However, it’s possible that deleting network entries from macOS
doesn’t remove the corresponding Keychain entries that are
being synced, and thus when an iPhone connects to an Xfinity
network, the connection details are synced back. (Xfinity uses
a web-based login process, but I believe Apple passes that
information to its hotspot login system, which intercepts
portal screens and fills them with stored information.)

mac 911 keychain wi fi loginIDG

Keychain Access lets you peer into stored passwords for logins,
including for Wi-Fi portals.

A way to test this and potentially solve this persistent
problem is to use Keychain Access in macOS, as you can’t manage
Keychain entries directly in iOS. (You can “forget” a network
via Settings > Wi-Fi > tap a network in the vicinity and
then tap Forget This Network and confirm. But it may not delete
the Keychain entry, either.)

Follow these steps:

  1. Launch Keychain Access (found in Applications >
    Utilities).
  2. Search for the network name (like xinifity).
  3. Select the entry or entries and select Edit > Delete.
  4. Confirm the deletion.

Now return to the Network preference pane and follow all the
steps above to be sure the entry doesn’t persist, either.

It’s possible this is just an iCloud Keychain sync issue, but
there’s no harm in cleaning out unwanted entries in Keychain
Access, either.

Ask Mac 911

We’ve compiled a list of the questions we get asked most
frequently along with answers and links to columns:
read our super FAQ
to see if your question is covered. If
not, we’re always looking for new problems to solve! Email
yours to mac911@macworld.com including screen captures as
appropriate. Mac 911 can’t reply to—nor publish an answer
to—every question, and we don’t provide direct troubleshooting
advice.

To comment on this article and other Macworld content, visit
our Facebook page or our Twitter
feed.